Forgot your password ?

Education & Training

NUH/SICOT Trauma Fellowship Award (currently closed)

Funded by National University Hospital, Singapore

On 13 September 2010 a new SICOT Fellowship Award blossomed in the Asia Pacific region. A Memorandum of Understanding between SICOT and the Division of Orthopaedic Trauma, National University Hospital in Singapore created a new window of opportunity.

The Orthopaedic Trauma Division of the National University Hospital consists of 5 orthopaedic surgeons. Most complex trauma cases are referred to this division. Routine management consists of pelvic and acetabular trauma, geriatric fracture management, open fracture management and polytrauma. Most surgeries are performed with Minimally Invasive Techniques. With the high volume of open fractures, Ilizarov techniques are commonly used too. Apart from this, a fair volume of arthroplasty and arthroscopy is performed.

This new fellowship will give young surgeons (below the age of 40), who are from the Asia Pacific region and SICOT members, an opportunity to train in orthopaedic trauma in Singapore for six weeks. The fellowship will be funded with the support of Zimmer Pte. Ltd. which includes an economy return flight ticket, accommodation and daily allowances for the entire duration of the fellowship.

The selection will be made based on the submission of:

  1. a detailed curriculum vitae;
  2. a best published scientific paper; and
  3. a letter of recommendation by the supervisor/chief.

All applications must be made between 1 December 2013 and 31 December 2013 and sent to The selected candidate will be notified by 31 January 2014. The candidate is highly encouraged to receive the fellowship award during the annual SICOT meeting. The fellowship will commence in May/June 2014. An advance selection will provide adequate time for the candidate to prepare for the fellowship. Upon completion of the fellowship, a formal report will be required from the candidate after which an official Fellowship Certificate will be presented.


2013: Vikas Bachhal (India)
2012: Mohammad Farooq Butt (India)