Forgot your password ?

Awards & Fellowships

SICOT Travelling Fellowships 2015 (open)

Funded by SICOT & Århus University Hospital, Denmark

Every year, SICOT offers two young surgeons three-month fellowships to visit an international medical centre. The aim is to attend and learn at a renowned education centre to improve knowledge and surgical skills. The value of each fellowship is EUR 4,000, which includes travel and accommodation.

The fellowships are:

  • Danish Travelling Fellowship: at Århus University Hospital in Denmark specialised in Spine Surgery.
  • International Travelling Fellowship: at a centre of your choice. This centre should have a SICOT member, or the corresponding surgeon is known to, or in contact with, SICOT.

Prerequisites: The applicant must be a member of SICOT (dues for 2014 must be paid), under 40 years of age, and must have previously attended a SICOT international meeting.

Applicants should send the following to

  1. CV.
  2. Two references with e-mail contacts.
  3. Application letter containing:
    • aim of travel (travel should take place in 2015), specialty of interest and Fellowship being applied for (1 choice);
    • how this Fellowship will benefit your home country or hospital;
    • for the International Travelling Fellowship: proposed hospital for travel and contact person, and his/her SICOT contact. Please ask your contact person to e-mail SICOT.

Application deadline: 31 December 2014

Successful applicants are required to submit a report to SICOT upon completion of their fellowship. 

Fellows in 2014

  • Danish Travelling Fellowship: Peace Ifeoma Amaraegbulam (Nigeria), Kenny Kwan (Hong Kong), Adetunji Toluse (Nigeria), Kedar Phadke (India) 
  • International Travelling Fellowship: Mrinal Sharma (India)

Fellows in 2013

  • Danish Travelling Fellowship: (to be announced)
  • International Travelling Fellowship: Ahmed Ismail Ahmed Hammouda (Egypt) 

Fellows in 2012

  • Danish Travelling Fellowship: Mohamed El Maksoud Ismail (Egypt)
  • German Travelling Fellowship: Sunil Gurpur Kini (India)
  • International Travelling Fellowship: Tanveer Singh Bhutani (India)

Fellows in 2011

  • German Travelling Fellowship: Mayank Agrawal (India) Read report...
  • International Travelling Fellowship: Alfredo Pozzo (Bolivia) Read report...

Fellows in 2010

  • Danish Travelling Fellowship: Dharmendra Singh (India) Read report...
  • German Travelling Fellowship: Hamed Abdelmoula Alhawary (Egypt) Read report...
  • International Travelling Fellowship: Ahmed Abdel-Azeem (Egypt) Read report... (pdf)

Fellows in 2009

  • Danish Travelling Fellowship: Yu Wang (China) Read report...
  • German Travelling Fellowship: Cosmas O. Ihezie (Nigeria) Read report...
  • International Travelling Fellowship: Ghulam Shabbir (Pakistan) Read report...